WNHS adds four members to Athletics Hall of Fame

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville North High School has announced four new additions to its Athletics Hall of Fame — all of whom will be honored prior to the Warriors boys basketball game against Westerville South High School on Jan. 27.

The Class of 2023 Athletics Hall of Fame members are:

  • Shelley (Harness) Ebright, Class of 1984

Ebright competed on the track/field and volleyball teams, earning All-State status in each sport. After graduation, she played women’s volleyball at Wright State University. She returned to WNHS in 1988 as head girls volleyball coach, earning a 159-112 overall record in 12 seasons. She led the Lady Warriors to three OCC titles, three District Championships and the school’s lone regional title and state Final Four appearance in 1997. 

Ebright has been teaching in the district for 32 years, currently serving as a fifth-grade teacher at Annehurst Elementary.

  • Tia Trent, Class of 1998

Trent made it to the state track podium seven times during her four-consecutive trips to the state meet from 1995 to 1998. Trent earned the state title in the 400M dash in 1997 and was part of the 4x800 relay team that won the state title the following year.  WNHS’ girls team finished fourth overall at the 1998 state meet — the highest finish in school history. Trent currently holds three girls track records at WNHS in the 400M dash, 4x400 relay, and 4x800 relay. Trent also competed for four years as a member of the Warriors girls basketball program. 

After graduation, Trent continued her track career at Indiana University and competed in the US Olympic Trials where she finished seventh place in the 400M dash in 2002.

  • Dave Hoover, Boys Basketball Coach 

Hoover served as WNHS’ head boys basketball coach from 1983 to 1995, where his teams collected five OCC titles, three district championships, two regional championships and the program’s lone state championship in 1994. Hoover compiled an overall record of 195-81 during his 12 seasons leading the Warriors. Following his time at WNHS, Hoover won two more state championships at Canton McKinley in 2005 and 2006. Hoover was previously inducted into the Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame in 2008 and the Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame in 2021.

  • David Grant, Class of 1989, Wrestling Coach

As a student, Grant qualified for the state wrestling meet three consecutive seasons, finishing third overall (125 pounds) as a junior and earning state runner-up his senior season (130 pounds). 

Grant, who has been coaching wrestling since 2003, has coached 47 state qualifiers, 21 state placers, one state runner-up and six state champions. His teams have won six OCC championships, earned two top 10 state team finishes — third in 2008 and seventh in 2021.

Launched in 2018, the Athletics Hall of Fame recognizes an athlete who distinguished themselves in the field of athletics while at WNHS, a coach with at least five years of service who greatly contributed to the success of Warriors teams and athletes, and an individual who made outstanding contributions to athletics outside of playing or coaching. Nominees must have graduated from WNHS at least 15 years prior to Hall of Fame induction.

To date, the Athletics Hall of Fame has welcomed eight athletes, four coaches, and four friends of the program amongst its initial 15 members.