Westerville Parent Council announces 2019-20 GEM Award recipients

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville Parent Council and Roush Honda are pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s GEM Awards. Now in its 17th year, the GEM Awards program, which stands for Great Educator Mentor, recognizes volunteers and district staff who go above and beyond to positively affect the lives of the students in Westerville schools.

Each building solicits nominations and a committee comprised of staff and parents select an honoree. In addition, a committee with district-wide representation selects one community business or organization recipient and individuals for contributions that impact more than one building or the district as a whole.

GEM award recipients will be recognized during a special session of the Westerville Board of Education on Monday, April 13, in the Westerville North High School auditorium, located at 950 County Line Road. A private reception begins at 6 p.m., followed by the public Awards Ceremony at 7 p.m. Members of the community are encouraged to attend the 7 p.m. ceremony and help celebrate those who do so much for so many. The 2019-20 GEM Award recipients are:



The Early Learning Center      Tracy Kumi

Elementary Schools

Alcott: Gail Stewart

Annehurst: Jennifer Koval

Cherrington: Emily Mowery

Emerson: Brian Altiere

Fouse: Sarah Prohl

Hanby: Caleb Martin

Hawthorne: Maggie Butler

Huber Ridge: Michael Stumpf

Longfellow: Jeanne Perry

Mark Twain: Kim Glaser

McVay: Mary-Alice Backiewicz

Pointview: Shawna Chisholm

Robert Frost: Jason and Dana Caney

Whittier: Nathan Fisher

Wilder: Sue Young

Middle Schools

Blendon: Yolanda Fett

Genoa: Lori Howland

Heritage: Sandra Stratmann

Walnut Springs: Bethany Morvay

High Schools

Central: Ron and Linda Staab

North: Amy Birtcher

South: Susan Llaneza


Meg Hogan, Wendy Loeser, Claudine Morales, Amy Raubenolt, Kristan Robertson, Molly Woodruff    

Terry Gordon Business Award

Nothing Bundt Cakes