Three Westerville Students are Semifinalists in the National Merit® Scholarship Program

Back to School News      Print News Article

Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) have announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 64th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, three of whom attend high school in Westerville – Benjamin Giffin and Sarah Wolfe, Westerville Central; and Rachel Slaybaugh, Westerville South. 

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring.  To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.  More than 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.