Westerville Parent Council announces 2022-23 GEM Award recipients

Back to School News      Print News Article

Westerville Parent Council and Roush Honda of Westerville have announced the recipients of the 2022-23 Great Educator Mentor (GEM) Award, which is presented to individuals who go the extra mile to make a positive impact in the classroom and schools.

Westerville Parent Council President Rachel Crites said the parent council, with the generous sponsorship of Roush Honda, has celebrated the contributions of staff, volunteers, and community members at each building and across the school district for 21 years.

Crites said more than 300 GEM nominations were submitted — a testament to the ”wonderful people we have as part of our district and community.” 

“We are thrilled to celebrate and congratulate the winners of this year's GEM awards,” Crites said. “The unbelievable ways they have shown up for our students, parents and staff, especially in such a historical moment in time, is commendable. We are proud to recognize them. Thank you is not nearly enough for all they have done.”

GEM winners will be celebrated with a special ceremony at Westerville North in April.

The 2022-23 GEM Award recipients are:



The Early Learning Center: Krista Houston, teacher 



Alcott: Kristy Groger, volunteer and substitute teacher

Annehurst: Tricia Rose Hall, music teacher

Cherrington: Macy Pinion, aide

Emerson: Andrea Wiseman, school counselor

Fouse: Betsy Denney, teacher

Hanby: Cathy Monteiro, reading intervention teacher

Hawthorne: Jenny Scherer, school counselor

Huber Ridge: Walter Brewer, aide

Mark Twain: Amanda Matchack, teacher

McVay: Danielle Whalen, custodian

Minerva France: Anna Johnston, volunteer

Pointview: Julie Taylor, school counselor

Robert Frost: Julie Cormell, volunteer

Whittier: Angela Zimmerman, teacher

Wilder: Laura Stier, aide and volunteer



Blendon: David Grimes, teacher

Genoa: Tina Bardwell, teacher

Heritage: Stuart Gartrell, assistant principal

Walnut Springs: Michael Pierce, custodian



Westerville Central: Michael Park, teacher 

Westerville North: Sharon Dewey, WNHS Music Booster President

Westerville South: Larry and Tiffany Jenkins, WSHS Music Booster President and volunteer 



Molly Frizzell, volunteer

Rhonda Gilpin, Westerville Education Association President

Jeremy Hollon, Community Connection Coordinator for Community Refugee & Immigration Services (CRIS)

Dr. Lisa Huelskamp, gifted education facilitator

Nicole Johnson, volunteer

Cindy Straub, volunteer and theater instructor

Michael Toth, volunteer and substitute 



Card My Yard Galena


Westerville Parent Council (WPC) is a non-profit organization representing 31 support organizations, including PTAs, PTOs, booster and community groups in the Westerville City School District. WPCS’s executive board and numerous committees assist member organizations to ensure families are engaged and connected in Westerville schools. For more information about WPC and its initiatives, visit their website or on Facebook.